Petersberg Agreement


The Petersberg Agreement (Petersberg Abkommen) of 22 November 1949 was an accord between the three Allied High Commissioners (representatives of the United States, Great Britain and France) and the chancellor of West Germany. The agreement expanded the rights of the German Federal government. The rights had been previously defined by the three Western Allies in the Occupation Statute of Germany. The Petersberg Agreement was a first step toward West German sovereignty following the country’s adoption of a post-war democratic constitution on 24 May 1949. The agreement was signed at the Hotel Petersberg It was signed by Allied High Commissioners John J. McCloy (United States), Brian Hubert Robertson (Great Britain), André François-Poncet (France) and West German Chancellor Konrad Adenauer.

The Statute of Occupation of Germany

The Occupation Statute of Germany (Besatzungsstatut) of 10 April 1949 specified the roles and responsibilities of the Allied High Commission and the newly created Federal government of Germany. The statute restricted Germany’s sovereignty and, at the same time, admitted the country into the European Recovery Program (Marshall Plan). Based on Occupation Statute, the Western Allies (1) retained the right to keep occupational forces in Germany, (2) to keep complete control over Germany’s disarmament, demilitarization, war reparations, decartelization and coal and steel industry of the Ruhr area and (3) to control certain scientific research, foreign trade and exchange, and foreign affairs. The Statute of Occupation of Germany remained in force until the Treaties of Paris were ratified in 1955.

What did the Petersberg Agreement accomplish?

The Petersberg Agreement relaxed certain aspects of the roles and responsibilities of the Allied High Commission and the Federal government of Germany, as previously laid down in the Statute of Occupation of Germany. 8 ENG.pdf In accordance with the Petersberg Agreement


  1. West Germany was now permitted to join the Council of Europe as an associate member.
  2. West Germany agreed to sign a bilateral agreement with the U.S. regarding the Marshall Plan.
  3. West Germany agreed to send delegates to the International Authority for the Ruhr, effectively accepting some international control of the Ruhr district.
  4. West Germany agreed to remain demilitarized.
  5. West Germany was permitted to gradually initiate re-establishment of consular relations and international trade.
  6. West Germany agreed to pursue liberty, tolerance and humanity and to eradicate all traces of Nazism from German life and institutions and to halt any revival of totalitarian efforts.
  7. West Germany agreed to take legal action relative to decartelization and monopolistic practices according to the Occupation Statute.
  8. West Germany was permitted to construct ocean-going ships again, although with restricted capabilities.
  9. Several industrial plants were removed from the industrial dismantling list.
  10. West Germany requested to end the state of war. The request was noted but denied.



For a sneak peek at the first 20+ pages of my memoir, “Walled-In: A West Berlin Girl’s Journey to Freedom,” click “Download a free excerpt” on the home page of






Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply